Just another WordPress.com weblog

Random updates: Shining Inheritance, You’re Beautiful, Hidarime Tantei EYE, Jo Kwon & Ga In in WGM

In case you thought I was finished with all the dramas I could possibly handle…well, to be honest, there was never really an end in sight. As such, after I was finished with the ever beautifully crafted Buzzer Beat and the outrageously crazy Otomen, I turned my eye towards some sister dramas in Korea. I did a one episode review on My Fair Lady, the comeback drama for Yoon Eun Hye, but as the weeks went by and the episodes continued to disappoint, I dropped the drama like a hot potato (as much as I love the girl and Moon Chae Won from Shining Inheritance, it’s not worth it to sit through an hour of pain). If you’re still looking for recaps for My Fair Lady, I can point you towards Dramabeans if you’re not aware of her already (shame on you!) since her reviews are extremely detailed, insightful and witty, all of which are highly important when reviewing. I don’t agree with everything she says, but her reviews are beautiful, and fast, and she’s quite happy to have people disagree (politely) with her perspectives (please don’t be rude), so it’s always fun to hang out there.

Going through 24 episodes of Shining Inheritance was no joke, and to be honest, I have lots to say about it, but I’ll save that for another post. I’ve also caught up on a couple of other dramas – You’re Beautiful for one, which is shaping up to be the best opening two episodes I’ve seen in KDrama this year at least; I adore Jang Geun Seuk for his portrayal of Tae Kyung and his sneer is fabulous. If Lucius Malfoy had looked this good in Harry Potter, I’d have been on the side of the Deatheaters for sure! Some reviews have been posted on Dramabeans, and I’m tempted to do my own, so if there’s time left over, you’ll probably see what I’m gushing over.

I’ve also been struggling through Dream in which Kim Bum (from Boys Over Flowers fame) acts, and despite the fact that there’s nothing wrong with the acting, or the storyline, there’s a strange sluggishness about it that makes it hard for me to waddle through each episode. Perhaps it has to do with the fact that there’s nothing, really, about any of the characters in particular that make you want to cheer for them, or cry with them, or laugh at them. In other words – bland. I do like the acting though, and I’m curious to find out how it all turns out, so I’m still holding on and going slow.

And just when I ran out of patience, I switched back to the world of Japanese drama, and what do I find?

Hidarime Tantei EYE! Yes! The exact show I was telling you to keep an eye out for! It stars one of my favourite upcoming JE boys from Hey! Say! JUMP – Yamada Ryosuke. I admit a bias right here right now, but I do think the boy can certainly act, so this is a definite plus. I’m about to make a recap of it now, but not in this post since it’s going to be long enough without the recap.

Last update: for all of you who were waiting for the English subs of Jo Kwon and Ga In on We Got Married, here it is (many thanks to time2subs2@YT and omona for the links):

Leave a Reply

